Beautiful Words

Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king, for my tongue is like the pen of a skillful poet.

Not my own will, but Yours (Posted in Indonesian: Bukan Kehendakku Tapi KehendakMu)


Not my own will but YOURSThe strong people are not those who able to lift up and bear the mountain on their shoulder. The strong people are those who willing to let go their desire, then with a heart of worship says:

“Your Kingdom come, Thy will be done”

 

Everyone surely has a certain desire and hope in their life. The happiest thing is when what we want materialized comes true. Then what if after so long labored and prayed in earnest but has not become a reality?

 

REACHING THE DREAM

 

the strong peopleFor several weeks I praying and fasting with special adjuration to God, hoping His miracle. I spent tens of days with burning passion. I truly keep my feel, words, and mind to be more attuned with God’s word. I conditioned myself to continue to live in faith and hope. If it starts to weaken, I immediately look for the God’s Word and speak it. Very excited, so I feel able to move mountains! Then something happened. The opportunity that I look forward suddenly appeared in front of my eyes. I thought and hoped that it was the beginning of miracle. My heart soared, ready to open the golden gates to a brand new life.

What happened next? Nothing! A moment that I suppose as an answer of my prayer, passed unremarkable as if nothing distinctive. What I would expect is not yet a reality. How’s my reaction? I was bewildered like a dry leaf that falls drifting in the wind. My enthusiasm was blown up to nowhere. With the remaining strength, I tried to raise myself but could not. I struggled a few days, ask to myself “Why, what’s wrong, what is missing, what should be changed?” I have not found the answer.

After struggling for several days with lack of understanding, suddenly the Lord gave His Word: YOUR KINGDOM COME, THY WILL BE DONE.  A phrase which is always be spoken in The Lord’s Prayer. Instantly I realized and such out of the dense fog. Apparently, during prayer and fasting I was too focused on my needs and desires, and insisted to get it very soon. It made me strive with my own strength and not surrender to God

 

 

SURRENDER

 

Surrender is not the same as giving up.
Give up means not want to try anymore because of feelings of failure and fear of failing again. But those who surrender to God are those who keep doing its part to the maximum, but fully entrust the end of the result to God and not disappointed with His decisions.

 

surrenderIn a daily living, when we facing struggle of a needs or just want to something, God ask us to pray. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (Philippians 4:6 NIV)  But sometime without realizing we assume that more we praying, fasting, praising the Lord, speak the word, and say positive, then God even could not refuse our desires. We often “forced” God in our requests. We forget that God is a God who is sovereign and has full authority to say ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ to us. We even forget that what we want, not necessarily appropriate with God timing and planning for us.

 

Jesus, a Son of the Lord, Has given a perfect example for us. Before being arrested to be crucified, Jesus prayed earnestly in the Garden of Gethsemane that the cup pass from Him. But though in the most urgent circumstances, Jesus remain says, “…..Yet not as I will, but as you will.” (Matthew 26:39 NIV)

 

As a follower of Christ and children of The Lord, Let us imitate Jesus. Jesus not only taught how to pray the Lord’s Prayer, but Jesus also did it. Actually, what makes it difficult to say “Thy will be done” is because we felt our plan and consideration is the best. We do not believe God is able to help in other ways.

Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be doneWhen with worship hearts we say “Thy Kingdom come and Thy will be done”, means we bow and admit God as the sovereign God, and believe without suspicion in Him that He is good and His decision is perfect.

 

This time, if you have long prayed for something but God has not answered, please keep praying diligently and earnestly. Keep waiting to God because He is good God, generous and faithful. Do not give up and despair but surrender to God’s will. Do not rely on our own strength. Only the Holy Spirit is able to help and do Divine things in our hearts, until we are really able to say like Jesus, “Yet not as I will, but as you will.”  AMEN

 

 

By: SELLA IRENE – BEAUTIFUL WORDS

Posted in Indonesian “BUKAN KEHENDAKKU TAPI KEHENDAK-MU” (click here)

Photos by: Sella Irene

8 comments on “Not my own will, but Yours (Posted in Indonesian: Bukan Kehendakku Tapi KehendakMu)

  1. vw1212
    May 17, 2015

    Beautiful….vw

    Like

  2. Karina Susanto
    January 20, 2015

    Often happened is “yet is not Your will.but my own will” Very well post and reminder, sis. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. rolerrol
    January 20, 2015

    Such a challenging word Sella…..In the times of waiting and in the times of wondering when God will answer us we must be at a place where we say, “Thy will be done”! Like you said, it’s about trusting Him!

    Rolain

    Like

  4. Pingback: Bukan Kehendakku Tapi KEHENDAK-MU (Posted in English: Not my own will, but Yours) | BeautifulWords

Leave a Reply

translate this blog

Follow Beautiful Words on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,423 other followers

Archives

